Skip Navigation LinksNews > News Details

07/10/2014 10:37
European qualification pools for 2015 U20/U21 World Championships confirmed
2015 FIVB U20 Women’s / U21 Men’s World Championships - European Qualification

Luxembourg, October 7, 2014.  The European qualification pools for the 2015 FIVB U20 Women’s and U21 Men’s World Championships have been confirmed.  A total of 22 women’s and 23 men’s national teams from CEV member countries have registered to take part in the competitions.

This time only two spots in the finals per gender have been allocated to Europe.  The European qualification process for these available places will take place in two rounds.  The first round is scheduled for January 8 through 11, 2015.

The gold and silver medalists from the 2014 CEV U19 Volleyball European Championship - Women, Serbia and Slovenia, and from the 2014 CEV U20 Volleyball European Championship - Men, Russia and Poland, will start their campaigns directly from the second round.  Six more teams per gender from the first round will eventually join them into the two pools with four teams each, whose winners will book their tickets to the World Championships.  The second round will take place from May 14 through 17.

The 20 women’s teams have been split into five pools of four teams each.  The five pool winners and the runner-up with the best record will qualify for the second round.  The 21 first-round men’s teams have been divided into six pools – three pools with three teams each and three pools with four teams each.  The six pool winners will move on to the decisive battles in the second round.  Each of the pools will be played in a three-day round-robin format.

2015 FIVB U20 Women’s World Championship - European Qualification 1st Round pools:
Pool A (in Italy):  Italy, France, Finland, Norway
Pool B (in Estonia):  Turkey, Greece, Croatia, Estonia
Pool C (in Romania):  Russia, Germany, Romania, Israel
Pool D (in Poland):  Belgium, Poland, Netherlands, Latvia
Pool E (in Czech Republic):  Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Austria, Denmark

2015 FIVB U21 Men’s World Championship - European Qualification 1st Round pools:
Pool A (in Denmark):  Italy, Czech Republic, Denmark
Pool B (in Slovenia):  Turkey, Estonia, Slovenia
Pool C (in Austria):  Serbia, Romania, Austria
Pool D (in Belgium):  Belgium, Slovakia, Portugal, Ukraine
Pool E (in Hungary):  France, Greece, Latvia, Hungary
Pool F (in Netherlands):  Bulgaria, Germany, Netherlands, Croatia

Click here to download the pool composition in PDF format.

Photo: By making the final match of the 2014 CEV U20 Volleyball European Championship - Men, the teams of Russia and Poland also secured spots directly into the second round of qualifications for the 2015 FIVB U21 World Championship

News nr. 23 of 23
06/01/2015 16:38:00
Austrians sound optimistic about chances to reach second round

Advanced Search
Open the calendar popup.
Open the calendar popup.

There are no matches appointed for today