Skip Navigation LinksNews > News Details

12/01/2017 13:05
2017 European League participants and pools announced
2017 CEV Volleyball European League - Men & Women

Luxembourg, January 12, 2017. The 2017 edition of the CEV Volleyball European League will feature 12 and 8 teams in the women’s and men’s competition, respectively. The figures were confirmed on Thursday at the annual European League meeting organised at the CEV headquarters in Luxembourg City and chaired by CEV Vice-President and Treasurer, Özkan Mutlugil.

“Together with the National Federations we would like to raise the profile of the CEV Volleyball European League with a focus on promotional activities, social media, in order to deliver a product that can further support your work and the popularity of Volleyball in your countries,” Mr Mutlugil said addressing representatives of the participating teams. “We are discussing the possibility to introduce a series of incentives and possibly a prize for National Federations that will be doing an outstanding job with the organisation and delivery of their matches in this year’s European League. Thank you for participating in this competition, together we can make it a success.”

A total prize money of € 150,000 is available for the teams participating in the 2017 CEV Volleyball European League.

The pool composition for the League Round was announced on Thursday morning after the participating teams were positioned based on the latest CEV European Ranking for women’s and men’s ‘senior’ national teams and distributed using the serpentine system.


Pool A:
Former Y.R. of Macedonia, Sweden, Albania, Azerbaijan
Pool B: Denmark, Ukraine, Hungary, Israel

The League Round single round robin tournaments will take place in the Former Y.R. of Macedonia (dates TBC) and Albania (June 23-25) for Pool A and in Ukraine (dates TBC) and Hungary (June 16-18) for Pool B.

The Final Four tournament will take place in Denmark on July 1-2 (dates TBC).

If Denmark finish first or second in their pool, the top two of each pool will contest the Final Four; if Denmark finish third or fourth in the League Round, the winners of each pool and the second placed team with the best score will move on to the Finals.


Pool A: Belarus, Finland, Austria, Albania
Pool B: France, Ukraine, Montenegro, Georgia
Pool C: Slovakia, Spain, Portugal, Sweden

The League Round single round robin tournaments will take place in Albania (June 9-11) and Belarus (June 16-18) for Pool A, in Georgia (16-18) and France (23-25) for Pool B and in Spain (June 9-11) and Portugal (June 16-18) for Pool C.

Sweden’s men and women are making their historic debut in the competition as much as Ukraine’s national teams and the women’s national teams of Austria, Finland and Portugal. A number of countries are returning to the stage of the CEV Volleyball European League after a short break – these include Georgia that later this year will be co-hosting the Final Round of the women’s EuroVolley together with Azerbaijan.

Two single round robin tournaments will be played in each pool with the competition reaching its climax with the Final Four tournaments that will crown the new European League champions. Last year’s silver medallists Former Y.R. of Macedonia (men) and Slovakia (women) will be trying to improve on the result they achieved in 2016 where they lost the final act of the competition to Estonia and Azerbaijan, respectively.

If no National Federation comes forward to host the women’s Finals, the competition will continue with home and away games until the eventual winners are crowned following semis and final matches.

News nr. 17 of 17
22/03/2017 17:04:00
100 days to men’s European League Final Four

Advanced Search
Open the calendar popup.
Open the calendar popup.

There are no matches appointed for today