Skip Navigation Links
Competition Format
General Information

8 National Federations will compete in the 2016 European Olympic Qualification Tournament.

The teams qualified is the team of the appointed organiser, plus the highest seven National Federations according to the latest CEV European Ranking.  Excluding Italy, who are already qualified to the Olympic Games following their result at the 2015 FIVB Volleyball World Cup.

Official Competition Hashtags are:
#Rio2016    #RoadToRio

The 8 teams will be split into two pools of 4 teams who play each other in a single round robin.  The pools have been formed with the organising Federation in position A1, and then using the serpentine system following the latest CEV European Ranking.

The 1st placed team from each pool will play the 2nd placed team from the opposite pool in the semi-finals.  The winners of the semi finals will play off in the Final, while the losers will play in the 3rd/4th deciding match.

The winning team will qualify for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games and the 2nd / 3rd will qualify to the FIVB World Olympic Qualification Tournaments in May/June 2016.

Useful e-books:

To see the full CEV Volleyball Competitions Regulations: CLICK HERE

To see the full Official Communications: CLICK HERE

To see the CEV Organisers Regulations and Guidelines for National Federations: CLICK HERE

If you have any questions please contact the CEV Volleyball Department (
Latest News

Competition Overview

There are no matches appointed for today