Skip Navigation LinksNews > News
01/09/2017 10:55
Turkey, Poland, Hungary and Czech Republic join forces to host 2019 women’s EuroVolley
News from the CEV

Krakow, Poland, September 1, 2017. Shortly after announcing the four countries hosting the 2019 men’s EuroVolley, CEV President Aleksandar Boričić made history again as he disclosed to the delegates attending the XXXVIII CEV General Assembly in Krakow the names of the four nations set to host the 2019 edition of the women’s European Championship. The competition will take place in Turkey, Poland, Hungary and Czech Republic, the latter being still a ‘tentative’ host at this stage.

The flagship event in women’s Volleyball will return to Turkey for the first time since 2003 – when their national team used the home-court advantage to claim a historic silver medal. Turkey previously hosted the women’s European Championship in 1967 – back then it did take place alongside the men’s competition. Poland played host to the 2009 edition – a truly historic one since it coincided with the highest record of attendance in history.

As for Hungary, a rising power in women’s Volleyball following their gold medal performance in the 2015 edition of the European League and at the FIVB World Grand Prix – Group 3 Finals earlier this summer, this country will host a Volleyball competition of this calibre for the first time in history.  

If confirmed, the Czech Republic would welcome the women’s EuroVolley for the fifth time – following the 1949 and 1958 editions hosted by the former Czechoslovakia, and the continental events this country hosted in 1993 and 1997.

Further information, including dates and host cities, will follow in due course.

As with the 2019 men’s EuroVolley, participation in the Final Round will be open to as many as 24 teams – with 12 (including the host countries) qualified as per the final standing of the 2017 edition due to take place in late September in Azerbaijan and Georgia.

News nr. 2811 of 20915
01/09/2017 11:08:00
Austria to host first ever Snow Volleyball European Championships
01/09/2017 10:54:00
France, Slovenia, Belgium and Netherlands to co-host 2019 men’s EuroVolley!
Advanced Search
Open the calendar popup.
Open the calendar popup.
Search for:

There are no matches appointed for today

Title and navigation
Title and navigation
<<<May 2019><<
May 2019