Skip Navigation LinksNews > News
18/06/2019 15:30
Entry lists for #EuroBeachVolley 2019 confirmed, DOL coming up on Wednesday!
CEV EuroBeachVolley 2019

Luxembourg, June 18, 2019. Teams from as many as 20 countries will compete at this year’s EuroBeachVolley in Moscow – with the continental showpiece event due to run from August 5 to 11 at the iconic venue that the organisers will be setting up at Luzhniki sports park in the Russian capital city. Last year’s gold medal winners Anders Berntsen Mol/Christian Sandlie Sørum of Norway and Sanne Keizer/Madelein Meppelink of the Netherlands will be travelling to Moscow to retain the continental crowns they claimed last year in The Hague. The Drawing of Lots to allocate the 32 participating teams per gender to the eight groups for the pool phase will take place on Wednesday, June 19, at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Moscow, starting at 16:00 CEST with live streaming available here.

Russia have the largest contingent in both the men’s and women’s competitions, with six and five teams, respectively. Viacheslav Krasilnikov/Oleg Stoyanovskiy and Konstantin Semenov/Ilya Leshukov will be leading the Russian charge in the men’s tournament – hoping to secure a gold medal that has so far eluded teams from their country. Krasilnikov and Semenov, while playing as a team, achieved Russia’s best result in the competition in 2016 when they won silver at Biel/Bienne, Switzerland.

The entries feature a number of former European champions. Apart from titleholders Mol/Sørum, the list includes Italy’s Paolo Nicolai/Daniele Lupo (gold medallists in 2014, 2016 and 2017), Latvia’s Aleksandrs Samoilovs/Janis Smedins (2015) and Spain’s Pablo Herrera/Adrian Gavira (2013). Austria’s Clemens Doppler is a former European champion as well, although he achieved this feat with different partners than his current teammate Alexander Horst. Overall, teams from 16 countries will compete in Moscow – with Austria boasting the second largest contingent after Russia with four entries.

The full women’s podium of the 2018 event will compete in Moscow as well, with Keizer/Meppelink joined by last year’s silver and bronze medal winners, Nina Betschart/Tanja Hüberli (SUI) and Marketa Slukova/Barbora Hermannova (CZE). Reigning Olympic and World champion Laura Ludwig will contest her first major competition after returning from maternity leave and teaming with Margareta Kozuch. Ludwig will be chasing a record fifth title and tenth EuroBeachVolley medal in Moscow. The list of former European champions competing in the Russian capital includes the likes of Marleen van Iersel (NED), Vasiliki Arvaniti (GRE) and Marta Menegatti (ITA).

Russia have the largest contingent with five entries, including their top team Ekaterina Birlova and Evgenia Ukolova, who won silver in 2015 in Klagenfurt. The list of home teams includes multiple age group European champions and 2018 Youth Olympic champions Mariia Bocharova/Maria Voronina. Russia’s only gold medal in the competition dates back to 2006 when Natalya Uryadova and Alexandra Shiryaeva won gold in The Hague. Overall, teams from 15 countries are contesting the women’s tournament, with Finland, France, Greece and Slovakia having no entries for the men’s competition.

For further information, visit the official event website

News nr. 193 of 3518
19/06/2019 17:00:00
DOL shapes up exciting pool stage for EuroBeachVolley 2019
16/06/2019 20:00:00
Russian girls and German boys - U18 European champions
Advanced Search
Open the calendar popup.
Open the calendar popup.
Search for:

There are no matches appointed for today

Title and navigation
Title and navigation
<<<February 2020><<
February 2020