Skip Navigation LinksNews > News
29/08/2019 23:00
Pool play ends on high note at #EuroVolleyW, shapes up exciting 8th Finals
CEV EuroVolley Women 2019

Luxembourg, August 29, 2019. The pool phase of the CEV EuroVolley 2019 Women ended on Thursday with a number of ‘big matches’ – with titleholders Serbia edging Turkey 3-1 before 10,700 raucous fans to claim first place in Pool A, while Italy lost 2-3 to Poland in Lodz but could still keep first place in their group. The Netherlands completed a clean sweep of their matches in Pool C without dropping a single set in Budapest, while Germany had already secured first place in Pool D with five wins from as many matches in Bratislava. After two rest days, the competition will resume on Sunday, August 31 with the 8th Finals matches held across the four host cities – Ankara, Lodz, Budapest and Bratislava.

These are the exciting fixtures coming up in just a couple of days:

Make sure you follow the competition through the official event website and the CEV’s social media channels, with live streaming (geo-blocking applies depending on the TV agreements in place) and exclusive video content available on EuroVolleyTV and the CEV’s YouTube channel, respectively.

Pool A

•    Bulgaria surged back from a very disappointing start to the tournament, as they routed Finland 3-0 in their last match in the pool not only to qualify for the 8th Finals but also to secure third place in the group, thus leapfrogging Greece.
•    Nasya Dimitrova was the top scorer of the match with 11 points. Finland leave the competition after finishing fifth in the pool, but still happy with their first EuroVolley victory since 1977.
•    The ‘big match’ between reigning European champions Serbia and hosts Turkey gathered a huge crowd of 10,700 fans at Ankara Sports Hall.
•    Serbia responded to Turkey’s strong start to secure a 3-1 victory and finish the pool phase in first place with a perfect record of five wins from as many matches.
•    Serbia play Romania in the next round, while Turkey take on Croatia.