Beach Volleyball

20 clubs from nine countries to feature at inaugural Beach Volleyball European Cup


Article Wed, Sep 13 2023

Teams from nine countries have signed up for the inaugural Beach Volleyball European Cup, which is due to take place in early October in Balikesir, Türkiye. This competition, specifically designed for and open to clubs, is yet another addition to the ever-growing CEV’s portfolio and further expands the opportunities provided to players, clubs, and National Federations to compete at the highest level on the international stage. 

The entries include clubs from real Beach Volleyball powerhouses such as Austria, Czechia, Italy, and Spain. Teams from Azerbaijan, France, Hungary, Slovenia, and hosts Türkiye are due to feature as well.   

As previously announced, the competition will follow a format close to what players and fans have become accustomed to in the Beach Volley Nations Cup, with some variations and adjustments, since the participating clubs can travel with up to six athletes and substitutions are allowed during the matches as well. A total purse of € 10,000 per gender will be at stake in Balikesir, a seaside resort that has already a proven success record in the delivery of both international and national Beach Volleyball events. 

The inaugural Beach Volleyball European Cup takes place after an impressive number of National Federations (16) did organise their own domestic competitions for clubs earlier this year to stimulate, according to the CEV’s vision, a further growth of the sport by promoting the role of Beach Volleyball clubs in such an important endeavour.

The 10 clubs per gender due to contest the first edition of the Beach Volleyball European Cup, all winners of their respective CEV-homologated national competitions, are:

Murov BAKU (Azerbaijan) 
Beach Club STRAHOV (Czechia) 
MONTPELLIER Beach Volley (France) 
Beach Volley Training BEINASCO (Italy) 
Ludus LJUBLJANA (Slovenia) 
Beachbol La Malva VALENCIA (Spain)
TVF Spor Lisesi Voleybol Ihtisas Kulübü ANKARA (Türkiye) 
Kartal Anadolu Spor Kulübü ISTANBUL (Türkiye) 

Azerrail BAKU (Azerbaijan) 
Telocvična Jednota Sokol BRNO I (Czechia) 
RÉ Beach Club (France) 
ÉDRA TATA (Hungary) 
Beach Volley Training BEINASCO (Italy) 
Ludus LJUBLJANA (Slovenia) 
CV Majadahonda MADRID (Spain) 
BALIKESİR Büyükşehir Belediyespor Kulübü (Türkiye) 
Altinyurt Spor Kulübü ISTANBUL (Türkiye) 

Hosts Türkiye will have two clubs in each gender vying for continental glory on home soil. 

For further information on the inaugural Beach Volleyball European Cup, visit the official competition page here