National Team Galleries

Off the Court

National Team Match Calendar


Being a Libero: Grebennikov



Get to know the sport...

Looking to find out more on the sport of Volleyball? Check out our sport overview page on our institutional site "Inside CEV", where you can find how the game works, information on the scoring system, the evolution of the sport, facts and figures and a run through of all the main skills that are used.

Go to: Volleyball Overview

Did you know?

The first Men’s European Championship was staged in Rome in 1948 with the participation of 6 teams; Czechoslovakia (pictured) claimed gold, while France and Italy finished second and third respectively.

The premiere for the Women’s European Championship followed in 1949 in Prague with a total of 7 teams lining up for the competition that came to a close with the Soviet Union topping the charts ahead of Czechoslovakia and Poland.

See full European Volleyball Timeline

Useful Docs

  • FIVB Volleyball Rules 2017-2020
    Download CEV Logo
  • CEV Volleyball Competitions Regulations
    Download CEV Logo
Read more