Challenge Cup - Women is the third tier among the three annual club competitions in Europe. Teams from all national federations within the CEV can qualify to participate in the Challenge Cup through their national championship or national cup competitions based on the CEV European Cups Ranking. The Challenge Cup - Women was launched in 1980 under the name CEV Cup (not to be confused with today’s CEV Cup, the second level in the European Cups structure). The current name was adopted in 2007.

Challenge Cup History


Germany’s USC Muenster and Italy’s Pallavolo Reggio Emilia have won the trophy a record-high of three times each. The latest winner of the Challenge Cup, Saugella Monza of Italy, claimed the trophy back in March 2019 - followed by Sistem9 Yesilyurt ISTANBUL (pictured) in 2021. The competition was unfortunately cancelled in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.


  • FIVB Volleyball Rules 2017-2020
    Download CEV Logo
  • CEV Volleyball Competitions Regulations 2021/2022
    Download CEV Logo
  • CEV Volleyball Cup - CEV Challenge Cup 2022
    Download CEV Logo
Read more


Match Galleries