Eight European teams to challenge for the title at the 2024 FIVB Volleyball Women's Nations League


Article Mon, May 13 2024
Author: Adrian Costeiu

Eight European teams will line up at the start if the 2024 FIVB Volleyball Women's Nations League, including reigning European champions and Nations League champions Türkiye, with three fantastic weeks of volleyball, plus the final round awaiting the 16 participating teams.

Each week, two pools of eight teams will take place, with the first ones in Antalya, Türkiye and Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, the second one in Macau, People's Republic of China and Arlington, the United States of America and the third one in Hong Kong and Fukuoka, Japan.

All matches of the final round, which will consist of eight teams, are due to take place between 20 and 23 June in the Indoor Stadium Huamark in Bangkok, Thailand.

Türkiye will be heading into this edition of the FIVB Volleyball Women's Nations League with big ambitions after a perfect 2023, where they won the title, as well as the European title. Coach Davide Santarelli will have a full team at his disposal, as Türkiye will host the Pool 1 of the first week in Antalya, where seven of the eight European teams are due to play. The only odd one out is Japan.

Undoubtedly, the big showdown will be the rematch of the CEV EuroVolley 2023 Women semi-final between the hosts and Italy, while in Pool 2, Serbia, the runners-up in the European premium competition last year, are joined by the Republic of Korea, the People’s Republic of China, the United States of America, Brazil, Canada, the Dominican Republic and Thailand. Pool 2 will take place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The hosts of the Paris 2024 Olympic Games, France, which finished sixth at the CEV EuroVolley 2023 Women, will make their debut in the FIVB Volleyball Women's Nations League, while Bulgaria are due to make their third appearance in the competition, after ending up on the 13th place in 2023.

All the other six European teams – Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Serbia and Türkiye, are making their fifth appearance in five editions, with all of the European sides aiming to extend the winning streak of the continent, after Italy took the title in 2022 and Türkiye in 2023.

The first week of the 2024 FIVB Volleyball Women's Nations League will see each of the eight European teams play four times between 14 and 19 May. The second week of the competition is due to take place between 28 May and 2 June, while the third one is scheduled between 11 and 16 June.

The top eight teams in the standings of the Pool Phase will progress to the final round in Bangkok, Thailand. In the last edition, four of the eight quarter-finalists where European teams.